We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our site. Cookies are files stored in your browser and are used by most websites to help personalise your web experience. By continuing to use our website without changing the settings, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linked In
  • Google+
back top

1300 members from 70 countries Join ICRS

Prof. Dr Michael Buschmann † (1962-2022)

It is with profound sadness that we share the tragic news of the sudden death of our ICRS Fellow Member Prof. Dr. Michael Buschmann, Eminent Scholar and Chair of Mason’s Bioengineering Department in the College of Engineering and Computing in Fairfax, Virginia, USA.


A scholar, university leader and man of compassion and integrity; his untimely death saddens all who knew and loved him. Michael earned his PhD in 1992 in Medical Engineering and Medical Physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in the Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology and conducted his postdoctoral studies at the ME Mueller Institute of Biomechanics, University of Bern, Switzerland. He became a faculty member at École Polytechnique in 1994, becoming a full professor in 2001. His research achievements include more than 150 peer-reviewed articles, over 330 conference proceedings, 5 book chapters, over 75 invited presentations, 19 patent applications (7 granted), over 12,000 citations, and an h-index of 56. He has graduated 20 PhD students, 17 MSc students, and supervised 14 postdoctoral fellows. During his academic career at École Polytechnique, he obtained over $50M in external research funding as principal investigator. Michael joined the ICRS back in 2004 and was active in several important committees. In 2011 he was responsible for organizing the 3rd ICRS Laboratory Skills Course Montreal and in 2012 he chaired the very successful ICRS World Congress 2012 in the same city. Our thoughts and prayers are with his wife Caroline Hoemann and the entire family.

It is with profound…
Prof. Dr Michael Buschmann † (1962-2022)